LongTimeTraveller

Ramblings of an Insomniac

In Uncategorized on July 31, 2011 at 8:07 AM

Perhaps some you don’t know this about me, but in the past few years I have grown quite attached to sleep. Not that I wasn’t previously attached to the idea or the actual practice, but my senior year at Hillsdale and now entering into the real world stage of life I am beginning to value sleep more and more. That being the case, the fact that I worked a very long 10 hour shift and it is now 4am and I can’t sleep is not helping my attachment to sleep grow any stronger. Rather, my affection for various music is increasing, as there really isn’t much else to do at 4am, besides, as I just discovered, write.

So here you have them, the ramblings of an insomniac. I have been going through various different genres of music this evening, ironically none of it has been classical. I have determined that I love classical in the mornings and jazz very late at night while driving home. Of course other categories of music are appropriate for other actions of life, but I am curious as to what yours are? Sometimes while driving through Detroit after I get off work, I feel compelled to listen to jazz because of the intrinsic city nature found within jazz music. Yet as I leave the city and simply engage in the bliss of freeway driving, I find my preference changing towards something more like Jon Hopkins or Kina Grannis. In other words, something soft, melodic, and easy to listen to. I suppose this is the genre that they refer to as easy listening. If so, I will admit that I am a sucker for it.

There are a few other artists that I have discovered recently that I am also enjoying heavily. A year ago Ben Parker introduced me to He is We and I totally forgot about them, but since he has been back and so generously gave me the cd I have been enjoying tracks like Pardon Me and Happily Ever After. I also discovered that Jon Hopkins released a new album with an artist by the name of King Creosote and have been listening to that to help me fall asleep at night as well.

During my drive home sometimes I listen to CBC2 because living in Michigan allows you the opportunity to feel at times, almost Canadian, and honestly, I think I am ok with that. Five of my siblings are Canadian, so why shouldn’t I enjoy it, right? While listening to the radio at about 1:30am I happened to hear a song called English Curse by a guy named Frank Turner. It’s these awesome moments where I discover music like this that make my drives home totally worth it at times. Check these titles out if you are so inclined, I think, dear reader, you might rather enjoy them.

So there you have it, the 4am ramblings of an insomniac. It’s nothing great, but it’s what you get at 4am. Thanks for indulging my insomnia. Hope I can read your ramblings one night as well. Till then, sleep well, and rest strong in the Lord. Ciao!

Leave a Reply

